James Dzuiba, Martin Hemmingsen, Liam Rance and Henri Sinik become EEWC champions

Satellite Racing DPi #64

Satellite Racing DPi #65

Satellite Racing has claimed the first ever DPI championship title in the Endurance eRacing World Championship the previous weekend by a sizeable 30 points. This comes after their famous victory at the finale in Le Mans, which they took ahead of the #65 sister car.

There was a record entry in the DPI class for the final round, as seven cars took to the grid, but nobody could beat Satellite over the 24 hours last weekend or over the season as a whole.

Martin Hemmingsen crosses the 2021 Le Mans finish line with slides and drama

The DPI class itself was only put into effect for the Nürburgring 12 Hours, with it being a logical decision to do so, due to the previous Hypercar class having only one entry at the previous round in Sebring, based on its unpopularity.

Henri Sinik lapping Team Viadukten in the Nürburgring 12-hour race

This made it a very short season and the teams had to get off to a good start. Satellite did exactly this by winning at the Nurburgring and Spa without too much competition from the rest, giving them a big championship lead heading into the finale.

Henri Sinik crossing the finish line at the 2021 Spa-Francorchamps 24-hour race

Rookie Monsters DDPi #555

Rookie Monsters DDPi #666

Early on in the week, it was Team Rookie Monsters on their return to the EEWC who were topping the times. They were out of championship contention anyway, so it wouldn’t have mattered, but Satellite made sure the title was theirs during the race.

The only team who were able to take the title off them were Viadukten, however, it wasn’t to be. They made it to the flag, but only in 6th position, a place in front of the only other team to score points this season before Le Mans, Axle Sports.

Team Rookie Monsters were on the podium in third, complemented by a fifth-placed finish for the #555 car. Splitting them in fourth, Team Adrenaline will be pleased enough with their début and hopefully will be able to take this form into 2022. Despite all of the challenges that Le Mans threw at them, most of the DPI teams got to the finish, even with the Cadillac being difficult to drive at times.

It was Martin Hemmingsen who had the honour of taking the Satellite Racing car over the line for the race and championship victory, plus we’ll see if they can defend their title in 2022.

About The Author

Ewan O'Leary
Key-commentator on the GTR24H Sprint Series.
Team Rookie Monsters return to the EEWC for Le MansLe Mans Virtual Series heads to the Nürburgring Nordschleife

> Cool Stuff From The Webshop